top of page
  • Writer's pictureChase Taake

Third Week of Creating the Podcast "Gamification Station" in 30 Days


Hi! I'm Chase Taake, and you are currently reading a weekly update for an even larger project “How I Made the Podcast ‘Gamification Station’ in 30 Days.” If you want to see this entire project, click here! Otherwise, continue reading to see what I did this week!


The Plan

The plan for this week was as follows:

  • Create the outline for the week (you're reading it!)

  • Create a rough outline for the second podcast

  • Record the second podcast

  • Edit the second episode

  • Publish the second episode on Sunday (trying different post times to see which does better)

  • Repurpose podcast into Facebook/TikTok posts

  • Create a TikTok page for the podcast

  • Advertise episode two

  • Create documentation on tools I used


The Results

I think this week went very smoothly, and it was because I followed my system I created and refined over the past few weeks. I created the outline of the podcast days before the actual podcasts, sending the script over to the guests that were on allowing them plenty of time to understand what we were to be talking about. The recording was smooth, and personally my skills of controlling the flow of the podcast have already improved. I again edited the podcast, I changed the background of the video podcast, and this week the podcast is on nine different platforms. The biggest platforms Gamification Station are on is Youtube, Apple Podcasts, Spotify, and Google Podcasts.


My guest this week didn't use a camera, and obviously to audio listeners that doesn't matter, but for my visual viewers, I wanted to have camera angles switch to keep them engaged. However, with my guest having no camera, I realized that this most likely isn't the best idea. So instead, I kept the one static angle and replaced the background with a cool visual, which you can see how I did in my TikTok video further down.


I also this week created a TikTok to start advertising and sharing knowledge on for Gamification Station. On this TikTok, I have and will continue to repurpose memorable quotes from the podcast to the page, hype up videos to get people to get to the podcast, and overall funny moments to hopefully get people to engage with the content on TikTok which would result in more views for the show.


I repurposed the podcast into a blog post as well, which also links to my podcast if they want additional information. The blog post really sums up what we talked about, in word format, minus the occasional rabbit holes. You can read that blog here!


What I Learned

This week I learned that having a system in place, making sure everything on your list is scheduled somehow is of the upmost importance. I had this done already, thank goodness, but doing everything from recording, editing, advertising, repurposing, creating accounts, and more, I realized how overwhelmed I could have been if I had not created a system to make sure everything was in a to do list, and everything was actually hard scheduled for a time in my week. This system can be found in my blog post here.


In creating a TikTok channel came creating TikTok content, which I found was not yet standardized in editing platforms like Adobe Premiere Pro. So I learned how to set up the dimensions correctly so you can edit your videos to fit the TikTok format (vertically), and also how to make it look good if it doesn't fit perfectly. You can see that video here.


Overall

This week was continuing the system I created, and making sure that it flows smoothly, which it sure did. Following this system I have documented over the past few weeks, anyone wanting to create their own podcast can follow along with my steps, learning from failures and from wins. The system is now great, and by following it you will not miss any steps! This week verified that my system is well done, and I furthered the advertising and branding of the podcast.


Click here to view the previous week 2!

11 views0 comments
bottom of page