top of page
  • Writer's pictureChase Taake

Second Week of Creating the Podcast "Gamification Station" in 30 Days

Updated: Sep 26, 2021


Hi! I’m Chase Taake, and you are currently reading a weekly update for an even larger project “How I Made the Podcast ‘Gamification Station’ in 30 Days.” If you want to see this entire project, click here! Otherwise, continue reading to see what I did this week!


The Plan

The plan for this week was as follows:

  • Create the outline for the week (you're reading it!)

  • Create a rough outline for the first podcast

  • Record the first podcast

  • Edit the first episode

  • Publish the first episode on Saturday

  • Create a Facebook page for the podcast

  • Advertise episode one

  • Create documentation on tools I used


The Results

The week ended with getting episode one of Gamification Station up on Spotify, YouTube, and even Apple Podcasts! Recording the episode was the first thing to happen during the week, and because of preliminary learning, connecting the host and making sure everything was set up right, it did not take long at all.


We stayed on topic and hit our goal of how long each section should be very well. The goal was a 30 minute podcast and we ended at 35 - I think the time management was great and we didn't just abruptly end the episode in order to hit this goal, the entire podcast was paced well.


While editing the podcast, I didn't quite hit my goals. I wanted the podcast to switch between cameras instead of one stationary camera on both people. I spent an hour editing between three different cameras and the video looked great. However, when it came time to post, the video became corrupted. Adobe Premiere wasn't redownloading the episode correctly, and in order to post the video when I wanted it to be posted, I had to upload the stationary angle. Episode two will not be like this.


I then published the episode and it was immediately published on multiple different platforms, the biggest two immediately being Youtube and Spotify. I had to wait for Apple to approve my podcast, however, the podcast did make it there. The podcast was out there, but no one knew it. So:


I created a Facebook page, which definitely could use some work that I'll do in the next week, to advertise the podcast. I posted the trailer for the podcast giving a sneak peek as to what the podcast is about, and also a trailer for episode one, which takes some nuggets of information into a quick montage, sort of hyping up the episode!


What I Learned

I had a great week of learning, and from what I learned this week, it will only make the following week that much easier.


This week I learned how to be a good host, which I wrote about in a blog you can find here. Being a great host is not just being witty, it's making sure your guest is treated right while maintaining the standards of your show. It's an art, and I speak about how to master the art in the above blog!


I also learned that I need to test my videos the day before publishing. It really is a shame that the video I had to post was not the quality of video I wanted. That hurt a little. However, in editing the podcast, I learned some techniques in editing to keep the viewers engaged which I share in my Loom video that you can find here.


Also, apparently, Anchor does not automatically hook you up with Apple Podcasts, which is a place I knew I wanted to be, because that is where I listen to podcasts myself. So I learned how to connect Anchor to Apple Podcast, which I created a Loom video about and that you can view here. From this point forward, whenever I upload my video to Anchor, it will automatically post on Apple Podcasts as well.


Overall this week was very productive, and I'm excited to put what I learned this week to the test next week!


Click here to continue to week three!

Click here to view the previous week one!


15 views0 comments
bottom of page