top of page
  • Writer's pictureChase Taake

How To Get Started Modeling/Acting



I just got back from a pizza parlors photoshoot and got paid $300 for 4 hours of eating pizza. A couple of months ago, I got paid $2,000 for 6 hours of reciting lines in front of a camera. I do not posses any more skill than anyone reading this, the only thing I did to deserve this was try.


The reason most people are not models or actors is because they never actually try. Each and every person is an asset, and there IS a hiring manager out there looking for someone exactly like YOU. You don't have to be good looking, look at Jonah Hill. You don't even have to be a good actor, look at that girl from Twilight. You just have to DO it.


Where to Begin?

Well, you can absolutely find gigs all by yourself through Backstage or other similar platforms, but at any stage in your career I recommend finding an agent. I am through an agency called Images Agency.


Your agency will help you figure out what you are best at, take professional photos of you for your portfolio that they will help you craft, and find gigs that are looking for people like you. They also will help you by offering classes, which each class you take will absolutely raise the amount of gigs you are offered. More classes = more auditions. A lot of people take no classes just hoping for auditions and get ticked when they don't get any. Do not be that person.


Words of Advise?

My biggest and most important tip: it's your world. You own you, do not for a second think if people are judging you, the second you do you are toast. That happened today for some other models I was with, they were too self conscious to make funny faces with the pizza. Me? Pizza on my face with my tongue out throwing up a piece sign, definitely will attach photos when they are out. As a result, the photographer spent 80% of his camera space on my pizza sauced face.


What to do Now?

Go find an agent, and strengthen your nerves. The more you put yourself out there, the stronger you will get and more confident. Do not give up, keep going, and eventually due to high confidence your acting and presenting skills will go up as well. They do coincide. Now get started, I want to see you on the big screen!

10 views1 comment
bottom of page