top of page
  • Writer's pictureChase Taake

Family/Friends Activity: Multiplayer VR! The Hologate!



VR has been blowing up recently, and it sure is fun on it's own. Chopping blocks to the beat of imagine dragons, Minecraft through your own eyes, and so many more adventures you can go on, and actually feel like you are IN with the help of VR. Hologate expands the experience.


What is hologate?

Hologate is a turnkey multiplayer VR system, or simply put, a freaking cool experience with your friends or family. Within a space of 270 square feet, you and three friends place on the VR headset as well as the haptic vests. You and your friends choose a game from the large catalog of games, minigames and adventures that Hologate provides, and each and every one of these games are easy to learn, but hard to master. When you do finally stop bickering about what game to choose and finally enter, the quality is better than any at home experience you could buy. The sound is perfect, as if there was a monster in the game breathing behind you, you would HEAR this monster breathing BEHIND you. The haptic vests add a ton to the experience. For example, if your friend sends an arrow from their bow through your chest in the game world, your vest will tighten, making you in real life understand that you just got hit in the chest.


The Games

Within hologate, no matter who you are, there is a game for you to enjoy with everyone else. There are competitive games, team based games, competitive games that are team based, or simply fun games where winning and losing don't exist. The games range from an onslaught of zombies trying to break into your room all the way to cooking food with pirates on their ship. I personally have tried a couple of games from Hologate and they are all WELL done. Hologate really works on creating the right feel. Not only are there graphics very well done, but the feel for each game is perfect. When fighting zombies, the tone is dark foggy and ominous, and you FEEL scared. But when cooking with pirates, you hear the birds chirping, it sunny, and you feel happy.


The Experience

With the VR headset on, I felt as if I REALLY was in a mansion, and when I saw that window break and a zombie stepping it's leg over to get inside, it sure felt real. I was holding a gun to shoot the zombies, and when I pulled the trigger the gun actually kind of kicked back making it feel like it were real. I looked over, and IN my headset I could see my friends virtual characters in the same room. When I yelled hi, they could hear me over the sounds of their own guns through their headsets. As I turned back around, there was a zombie midswing. It made contact with me, and I FELT it. The fest tightened and I knew, I felt, that I got hit.


The social

Playing with your friends really sells it. In real life, you are about 10 feet from each other, and when you put on the headset they are still right there. When you enter the game world, depending on the game, you are either really focused on your own task or working with your friends on a task together. Regardless of the task, laughing with your friends over funny moments, or yelling at Johnny for letting that zombie sneak up and kill you, being able to take off the headset, look at your friends and laugh is an awesome experience.


Overall

If you like video games, Hologate lets you basically play these except YOU are the character. No controller, it's you, IN the video game. And not only that, your friends are right there by your side. Hologate has tons of amazing games and experiences that you could try, and I definitely recommend trying Hologate at least one time.

5 views0 comments
bottom of page